Skip to content

The Long Day Wanes…

June 3, 2009

georg-grosz
.

.

Even a right-wing moron in a hurry would feel completely unembarrassed to vote for us–Tony Banks, late MP for West Ham on New Labour

.

.

So…farewell, then, Hazel Blears. Thank fuck. What is it with all the so-called ‘Blair Babes’? Why have New Labour’s women been so impeccably ghastly? Almost without exception, they have been every bit as bad as their wretched male colleagues–as spineless, as dishonest, as given to spouting doctrinaire drivel, as capable of a shabby thing. Is it that ‘Blairism’ attracted the worst type of woman? The blinkered ideologue, the relentless careerist, the most devoted trough addict?

Baffling. I like women. My wife’s a woman. My mother’s a woman. My sisters are women. My daughters are women in embryo. Many of my friends are women. All of the aforementioned are clever, funny, kind and brave. Is it simply that party politics doesn’t attract clever, funny, kind, brave women?

Anyway, good riddance. I detest Labour’s women more than I abhore the Tory version and for the same reason that I detest New Labour more than I loathe the Tories: because I expected more of them. I never felt betrayed by the Tories. I expect them to be what they are–swine. I demanded more of Labour. Now I can’t wait to see them utterly destroyed. The Tories will be a disaster, to be sure, but we’ll survive. I honestly don’t think we can survive much more of this worthless shower.

8 Comments
  1. Pollyanna permalink
    June 3, 2009 7:57 PM

    I was having this discussion earlier. Maggie Thatcher set a rather impossible trend to follow. She was a woman, yes, but she didn’t use any specificly womanly qualities to get into power or to remain there. Women in politics face an even greater challenge than men. Men are “MPs”. women are “women MPs” – there is always a difference and an expectation of them as women. You’re displaying it in your post. You expected them to bring something different to politics, yet they had to play the same system as men and work and live in the same system. Are men expected to act in an inherently manly fashion as MPs?

    I think that women in politics are judged more harshly precisely because there is a notion that women should be more caring and more nurturing than men, so if they make the same mistakes and end up being AS bad as the men, then they are judged to be worse.

  2. mishari permalink*
    June 3, 2009 8:13 PM

    I daresay there’s some truth to what you say. My experience has led me to expect better of women. It’s fair to say that all of my life, I’ve found women to be nicer than men–to me, at least.

  3. June 3, 2009 10:23 PM

    It’s not that Blairism attracted venal women; it’s that politics attracts venal people. One of the sad truths about the human race is that good people don’t want to run the world.

    One day to the European election and I still don’t know what any of the party stand for . I have read through the manifestoes they have sent me which spend 90% of their words discussing local issues, only remembering at the end that this is meant to be a European election and claiming they’ll do better there too.

  4. June 3, 2009 11:36 PM

    “It’s fair to say that all of my life, I’ve found women to be nicer than men–to me, at least.”

    I think politicians (like statisticians and speech-writers, two races they often work closely with) are neuter, essentially. Those may *look* like crotch-bulges/breasts and so forth but they’re really just undifferentiated humps (slightly cool to the touch) of stuffing.

  5. June 4, 2009 12:14 AM

    Pointless spoonerism from BBC headline “Brown pressure after Blears quits”:

    – Brown pressure after queers blitz

    – though of course I was thinking too, Brown pressure after queer shits.

  6. mishari permalink*
    June 4, 2009 12:30 AM

    Blown pleasure after fear’s squits

  7. June 4, 2009 4:34 PM

    I suggest we find one of the many exciting new species being discovered to take over as our political class. My vote goes to the palm tree that ‘flowers itself to death’.

    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/wales/south_east/8072587.stm

    I stumbled on this as part of my job. Never ask me what my job is.

  8. MeltonMowbray permalink
    June 4, 2009 11:44 PM

    I thought the agave ‘flowers itself to death’. I’ve seen several do it here. They put up a huge flower stalk- must be 15′ high- which lasts for a few weeks, then the plant shrivels up and disappears.

    You must work for Ripley’s.

Comments are closed.