Skip to content

An Appropriate Response

October 3, 2010

.

.

“It is sometimes an appropriate response to reality to go insane.”–Philip K. Dick

In Philip K. Dick’s novel Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?, Dick imagined a world in the not-too-distant future where animals are extinct. People console themselves with simulacra–android pets. The more I see of the way we, as a species, treat this planet, the more likely Dick’s dystopian scenario becomes.

I’m away for the next couple of weeks but I leave you with this task: tell us, in verse, what such a world would be like? I imagine it will be a world where Rilke’s famous poem (written after a visit to the Jardin des Plantes in Paris) is utterly baffling:

The Panther

The bars he passes strike his gaze
and stun his eyes: they’ve lost their hold.
A thousand bars create a maze,
beyond which there’s no world, just cold.

Pacing out that small, mean ground:
silent, supple, stride so lithe;
a ritual dance performed around
a point wherein his will survives.

Sometimes the pupil’s quiet shutter
lifts – and lets an image dart,
down the limbs’ intense mute flutter,
to silent die within the heart.

by Rainer Maria Rilke (my translation)

131 Comments
  1. Reine permalink
    October 3, 2010 10:04 PM

    Void

    My cat cannot compute
    Why I’m feeling rather bitter
    Wish she’d say something
    To take the sting
    Out of my wife’s trite twitter

    I cannot take the dog out
    For a perambulation
    His circuit shorted
    My escape aborted
    No chance of dispensation

    The hamster is up to ninety
    On his automated wheel
    I cannot vent
    At a rodent
    With such athletic zeal

    Oh God bring back the good old days
    Of moulting and cat pee
    Dog shit on the carpet
    And the cat stuck up the tree

    At least then I had a purpose
    A meaning to my days
    Now she spends every waking hour
    Trying to mend my ways

  2. hic8ubique permalink
    October 3, 2010 10:24 PM

    Wishing you a lovely autumnal ‘away’ time will have to do as my appropriate response for now, Mishari.
    Just today, I’ve freshly opened Tom Clark’s new book to the pages of ‘Night Sun: Black Jaguar’

    “…The eyes of the jaguar god grow large as he sniffs at the air
    curiously, his blood rising, and begins to move through the
    deep undergrowth beneath the great temples that have always
    been his home.”

    fare well, my friend.

    p.s. ~ you cheetahed on that image; wouldn’t want you to think I didn’t notice. x

  3. MeltonMowbray permalink
    October 4, 2010 12:08 AM

    Liverpool lost, I’m pretty sick,
    but it’s not just that, oh no,
    when I gave that iron cat a kick
    I broke my bloody toe.

    • hic8ubique permalink
      October 4, 2010 7:45 PM

      Are you familiar with this, MM?
      http://www.isabellacatalog.com/p/Himalayan-Salt-Inhaler.cfm

    • MeltonMowbray permalink
      October 5, 2010 12:12 AM

      I haven’t seen it. I’ll ask the doc about its efficacy, but I should think I’ll get a salty answer. It’s kind of you to think of me.

    • hic8ubique permalink
      October 5, 2010 2:31 AM

      Only too happy to think of you,
      as I’m deeply appreciative of capacious breath.
      Here’s another one to throw over your shoulder:

      http://www.naturalhealthweb.com/articles/LTiba2.html

      The ceramic inhaler does seem more expedient than travelling to Poland to sit in a salt-mine for 6.5 hrs/day.

    • MeltonMowbray permalink
      October 5, 2010 10:47 PM

      It’s a salt assault. A shake of vinegar and I’m ready for the newspaper.

    • Reine permalink
      October 5, 2010 10:56 PM

      Hold the vinegar, dip in a bit of ketchup and I’ll pay two quid for you.

    • MeltonMowbray permalink
      October 5, 2010 11:02 PM

      Two quid? You’re living in a pre-dip fantasyland. That’ll be a tenner, and a fiver for the newspaper.

    • Reine permalink
      October 5, 2010 11:04 PM

      Call it 9, I’ll bring my own newspaper and ketchup. I like to blow my chips first, so stay nice and hot.

    • Reine permalink
      October 5, 2010 11:08 PM

      Apologies if my response seems inappropriate.

    • MeltonMowbray permalink
      October 5, 2010 11:16 PM

      I shouldn’t think the chips are offended, though they may be a bit crisp.

  4. October 4, 2010 10:02 AM

    Prose and Cons

    My tropical fishbot is a delight
    When it gets dark you turn on its light.
    The parrotbot’s abilities it is claimed include
    A setting for language from pleasant to rude.
    The chinchillabot runs all day on 16 volts
    It’s set to be stroked so it never moults.

    The gerbilbot however is so badly made
    It’s kept in its box never to be played
    My dogbot is causing me no end of trouble
    The batteries it excretes pile up like rubble.
    As for the ponybot’s failings can enough be said
    Better if this had the ability to be dead.

  5. October 4, 2010 11:35 AM

    Good choice of the Rilke poem to counteract Phillip K Dick, especially the last verse.

    In “Do Androids…” isn’t it a tiny reflex of the muscle that blinks that differentiates the living from the robotic?

    Am away working for 2 weeks as well. Slong.

  6. hic8ubique permalink
    October 4, 2010 7:03 PM

    ZoOdroid Qu est

    Knight errant son:
    drives black Jag
    throttle opening
    low prusten emitting
    saddled with cured
    skin of obsolescent
    workers in the buff
    on their last job.
    He gravely seeks a lost
    womb of plush Earth
    more dear than satiety,
    more rare even now
    than carbonado.

  7. InvisibleJack permalink
    October 4, 2010 11:49 PM

    A World Without Zeebs

    The zeebs of bees a myth,
    the babel zeds of wasps;
    the zerts of midges in the ear,
    the clumphing wings of moths;
    the hieroglyphs of shadows
    flitting in the sun –
    were these the signs of angels
    before we were undone?

    Jack Brae Curtingstall

  8. MeltonMowbray permalink
    October 5, 2010 12:08 AM

    Robostud

    I’ve got to be honest with you,
    I really don’t miss animals,
    they bite, they scratch, they sometimes spew,
    they’re putrid as a dosser’s smalls.

    Those robomutts are ravishing,
    they do a cat, even a horse,
    they’re better than the real thing,
    but they don’t eat as well, of course.

    Obviously they have their drawbacks,
    cost, breakdowns, batteries gone flat,
    and we just don’t need more knick-knacks:
    the wife and me agree on that.

    That said, it was quite confusing,
    and a most peculiar lapse,
    when I found the wife perusing
    a catalogue of robot chaps.

    • hic8ubique permalink
      October 5, 2010 2:47 AM

      Reine~ That may be the just the ticket! You could call him Never Knackered Nick the Knick-Knack…
      paddy whack
      oh, I can’t… sorry

    • Reine permalink
      October 5, 2010 8:17 AM

      Not even I could give a robot a bone(*) Hic if that’s what you’re driving at.

    • hic8ubique permalink
      October 5, 2010 1:42 PM

      best let sleeping chaps lie

  9. MeltonMowbray permalink
    October 5, 2010 12:15 AM

    Ex-ce-ll-ent ver-ses, ro-bo-po-ets.

  10. MeltonMowbray permalink
    October 5, 2010 11:08 PM

    I’m sorry to say I’m struggling with this subject. I already live an animal-free life (except for the cats, pigeons and seagulls I kick out of the garden), so I don’t need to do much imagining. Widening the scope seems the only option. Or buying some pets. Option one, I think.

  11. October 5, 2010 11:18 PM

    Ruth on a hot tin cat

  12. MeltonMowbray permalink
    October 5, 2010 11:24 PM

    Hot tins do make good ammunition. I liked your piece on the previous thread, Exit.

  13. hic8ubique permalink
    October 6, 2010 3:13 AM

    MM, you’ve fulfilled the assignment handsomely, now what about backing it up a bit to include other dystopian scenarios to which insanity might be an appropriate response?

    For example: any combination of Tesco, ketchup, facial hair, your choice of music, economic collapse, and well-wishers bearing salt and seaweed potions? or any variations in this vein giving the desired result.
    Ah, more of our usual fare then; carry on…

  14. freep permalink
    October 6, 2010 12:35 PM

    I have been in the mountains, but have not yet died.
    Free dramatic verse inspired by Knockeen Hills Poitin. When the muse of terror finds a keyboard under a bright moon, she will have her way. It is irrelevant to the meister’s requirements, but I have some reading of the above to do, and may catch up.

    Home at Grasmere

    The pike are fractious tonight, William.

    Put them in a pye, Dorothy, for
    I purpose creating an important epic,
    And require alimentary heat.

    But, my gigantic brother with the size 20 plimsolls,
    The pike have taken off my left arm.

    The numinous perpetualities require, platonic rarity,
    That you provide comestibles with your remaining limb.
    For the undying truths must be told.
    I hunger for a muse with lightly sloping character of hand,
    And, besides, you are right- handed.

    But, sibling with the exquisitely equine countenance,
    I bleed, and not only for you. Handsome Bob Allen
    Requires an amanuensis who will transcribe his Antiphon,
    Which lionises Daniel. And since hee abhors pastry, and
    Has sideburns more louche than players at billiards,
    I’ll stew pike for him, and you may whistle for pye.

    Whistle for pye? Then faint, dearest sister,
    Once friend, but inconstant as the mountain winds;
    Let the chill waters of Endthwaite
    Bathe your wretched stump, for
    I have no Elastoplast.

    • hic8ubique permalink
      October 6, 2010 2:41 PM

      Only freep could prepare such a lightly dark baked subtlety, a savage domestic civility, a platonic solid fantasy.
      It does my heart good to see you, on a storm driven day. What further mountain cheer have you for us?

      The meister must console himself that such triumphal returns are preserved in blog formalin… and I’m not being arch.

    • hic8ubique permalink
      October 6, 2010 2:44 PM

      ..^..
      I’ ‘I

      now there’s an arch (if the spacing holds)
      it’s a little offset… aha, ah, ha

  15. hic8ubique permalink
    October 6, 2010 2:46 PM

    Wait, it wants a threshold…

    ..^..
    I’__’I

    this will do for now.

  16. HenryLloydMoon permalink
    October 6, 2010 4:48 PM

    oft, in dale, on hill,
    twixt moist nook and dry stone wall,
    do i muse in freep

  17. October 6, 2010 5:53 PM

    Thanks, Melton! I don’t know if it’s your intention but around my way a lot of the chaps use the word chap for their old fellow.

    I always love your grotesqueries, Freep.

    Also, anyone with an interest in the PP Anthology might want to check out the G2 supplement in tomorrow’s Guardian…

    • hic8ubique permalink
      October 6, 2010 8:42 PM

      Is that only in the paper GU, Exit?
      I’m sure we’d all be interested, though Reine (reenimus), Jack and I are all post Anthology arrivals, we’ve been hearing about it’s supposed advent. I may be the only one who doesn’t have access to the physical paper.

    • hic8ubique permalink
      October 6, 2010 8:45 PM

      ‘its’
      it’s a stupid reflexive spelling error.

  18. freep permalink
    October 6, 2010 6:32 PM

    Ah, that looks like a Dorique arch, hic. Thank you for your welcome, and I step o’er your threshhold with delight. I think thresshhold has one each of S’s and H’s.
    I have clambered Great Gable with the dogg, and looked down Wasdale at the far blemish of Sellafield, blurting out its noxieties towards Ireland. And visited once more the home of Wordsworth and checked that his shaving gear is still in the glass case. Dorothy’s book of mosses is still intact, too.

    There is no robot in W’s cabinet of curiosities, save the pics of his own robotic self, which machine-like turned out poems with execrable rhymes. As in ‘Fidelity’ the sad tale of a faithful Dogg that look’d after its master’s corpse for months. It is set …
    Far in the bosom of Helvellyn,
    Remote from public Road or Dwelling …
    Puts me off rhyme, even tho it reminds me that my own dogg wd do as much for me. But might be driven to eat my liver. See Landseer’s affecting picture ‘Attachment’.

    • hic8ubique permalink
      October 6, 2010 8:35 PM

      Oh, sad. There’s this one as well:

      I had an early affection for WW, but wandered off after my teens.

      Gracious of you to pass through my wonky triumphal arch, freep.
      I grant you as many esses and haitches as you feel inclined to employ; trades and throwbacks allowed with no penalty, and 50 pts extra if you use the entire alphabet.

      I am convinced that cannibalisms only occur when such starvation of the brain has occurred that only the basest functions prevail and no recognition remains, if that’s any consolation.

  19. mishari permalink*
    October 6, 2010 11:14 PM

    Evening all. Just a drive-by visit. Check out the cover of the PP Anthology Everyone’s Sense Of The World Is Invaluable (£12.95 Hardcover) HERE. Preview the volume itself HERE and Billy’s blog on this momentous event is HERE. Fame at last. You’d better believe my fees just went up…

  20. Reine permalink
    October 6, 2010 11:21 PM

    Oh congrats everyone – I am so proud! (I think an exclamation mark is warranted on this occasion). MM, HLM, Freep, Mish all hailed in Billy’s taster. Hurrah, honoured to touch the hems of your great coats. Well done everyone. xx Reine

  21. mishari permalink*
    October 6, 2010 11:33 PM

    I’ll try to find the link but the genesis of the title might amuse you, Reine. I think I’m right in saying it was first posted on a POTW by @deadgod but on a Poster Poems thread it became the basis for the ‘dickensdesk’ which was some very amusing wordplay (I thought)…I’ll try to find it…

  22. Zeph permalink
    October 6, 2010 11:43 PM

    Blimey, there it is at last, an actual book! Very good choices by Billy for his blog piece, those are some of my all-time faves.

    Isn’t it time for Volume II, though?

  23. mishari permalink*
    October 6, 2010 11:46 PM

    I suspect you’re right, Zeph. It’s taken the buggers…what?
    …almost 2 years to get this one out. Still, I’m glad to see it’s an actual book; I was under the impression it was just going to be a downloadable thing.

    But this fame has gone to my head. While searching that link for Reine I came across these, written while (for God knows what reason) I was @artrambo and I rather like them:

    I am big. It’s the pictures that got smallGloria Swanson in Sunset Boulevard

    Small Pictures

    The moment you realised you were different from us,
    When you entered the celebrity bubble,
    Was seeing your face on the side of a bus:
    White teeth, gelled hair, 3-day stubble.

    And then, of course, there was no turning back:
    The chat shows, the openings, the interviews;
    The carnival of fame, more addictive than crack;
    Like junkies seek smack, you sought camera crews.

    Did you really imagine we’d love you forever?
    Did you really imagine that you were unique?
    Did you think that the cord was just too strong to sever?
    You poor sap: in this racket, forever’s a week.

    Never mind, could be worse; hell, at least you’ve a job;
    A free uniform and a clean paper-hat;
    Just grit your teeth as you say to some slob:
    And will you be wanting a large fries with that?

    The King of Suburbia

    The forsythia grows unchecked by the door,
    The lawn’s looking patchy in parts;
    The trees need some pruning, the roses need more;
    Where now the suburban fine arts?

    But, soft! Who approaches?
    His engaging plaid golfing trousers
    Flapping madly in the gloaming?
    ‘Tis bold Mowbray, prince of wowsers,
    Neighbourhood snooper, forever roaming
    And moaning, You’re letting the side down, old boy.

    Self-appointed, self-satisfied, entirely self-propelled,
    A vision in wrinkle-free crimplene and flannel;
    A whiff of Old Spice? That’ll be Mowbray you’ve smelled,
    A one-man Keeping Up Appearances panel.

    The King of Suburbia at home in his realm,
    A nose sharp to poke into others affairs,
    A presence to both repel and underwhelm;
    Oh, super! He’s got some questionnaires!

    The Isle of Wight’s most famous
    Busybody and ignoramus.


    Interview With A Vampire

    Regrets? he gave his pipe a long thoughtful puff;
    Well, obviously, I’d like to have written War and Peace
    Don’t get me wrong: I’m not ashamed of my stuff;
    Let’s face it, Tolstoy didn’t have a villa in Greece.

    And how many films have they made out of Proust?
    Scorcese’s not beating down Marcel’s door;
    In Hollywood, the name Mowbray rules the roost;
    This week they’re releasing Sex and Guns 4.

    Oh, to be sure, there are people who sneer:
    The likes of artrambo and pepper and Mills;
    Snobs and elitists, I very much fear:
    Arty-type scruffs who don’t pay their bills.

    To hell with them, I’m content to be me:
    A million-seller and rolling in cash;
    I doubt that they sneer at my villa in Capri,
    In fact, I can practically hear their teeth gnash.

    This year alone, I’ve had a dozen smash hits:
    Lethal Sluts, Uzi Chicks, Biker Tarts 2,
    Blondes With Machine Guns, Killers With Tits,
    Deadly Buttocks
    and Sex Crazed to name just a few.

    The future? Oh, more of the same, I suppose:
    I’m not in it for the money, I’ll follow my heart;
    After all, this is the life that I chose:
    My one real devotion is to my art.

    Ode To A Sidekick

    Calm yourself, stalwart Mowbray,
    Cringing, faithful creature,
    In all the histories of my day
    Your name will surely feature;
    They’ll say, “artrambo’s vision was bolder;
    The gap? His vision bridged it.
    Mind you, he stood on the shoulders
    Of a most obliging midget.”

    • Reine permalink
      October 7, 2010 12:05 AM

      Mowbray, he’s obsessed. Not just me then. Ha ha. Wonderful Mish as per. Thanks for trying to find the other even if you were sidetracked. R

  24. Captain Ned permalink
    October 6, 2010 11:56 PM

    As of today, ‘The pike are fractious tonight, William’ is one of the immortal first lines of English poetry.

    Good to see the anthology is here at last, though I’m not sure about the cover. I liked it at first, but the more I look at it, the more queasy I feel. Still, at least we can all stop bothering Sarah Crown now – until next time…

  25. mishari permalink*
    October 7, 2010 12:03 AM

    I’m undecided about the cover, Ned. I guess I’ll reserve judgment until I actually have a copy in my hands.

    I don’t suppose you remember which thread all those ‘everyone’s sense of the world is invaluable’ dickensdesks (©peppertrash 2009) appeared on?

  26. MeltonMowbray permalink
    October 7, 2010 12:28 AM

    I preferred this one:

    The Ballad of Prince Mishari

    I’ll sing you a song of distant Araby
    Concerning a sheikh called Prince Mishari,
    His pet monkey Dibdab
    The Hindu lady Zeinab
    And how he strutted the square in a sari.

    Zeinab was a Bombay merchant’s wife,
    Fed up with continual marital strife,
    Her spouse unaware
    She visited the square
    Determined to see some Kuwaiti life.

    It was Dibdab’s naughty intervention
    Which made an opening for conversation
    With a flick of his tail
    He had off her veil
    And soon there was an assignation.

    Now Prince Mishari was a snappy dresser
    But that in itself didn’t impress her,
    No, it wasn’t the clothes
    But the mountainous nose
    Which promised unusual pleasure.

    That night they met and sat side by side
    Discussing Farrell and the Raj’s slide,
    Bollocks to Lucknow!
    I think we should fuck now!
    The lecherous Prince he upped and cried.

    For her part Zeinab was ready to play,
    So down on the bed she lustfully lay
    He shrugged himself loose
    Of his silken burnous
    And quite soon he was entering Bombay.

    Outside Dibdab had been rather bored
    Now he hammered on the chamber door.
    It’s my husband! squeaked Zeinab,
    The Prince stopped in mid-shag,
    And leapt off the bed, grabbing clothes from the floor.

    Out through the window he made his egress,
    Entering the square in a bit of a mess.
    The crowd was staring
    At what he was wearing:
    He saw he was arrayed in Zeinab’s dress.

    Along came the police and took him away,
    Despite his protests that he wasn’t gay,
    ‘You’re wearing a dress
    You must be a jess.’
    They threw him in a cell and told him to pray.

    ‘You’re guilty as charged, it would appear’
    Said the grim-faced vizier of the Emir,
    ‘Here in Kuwait
    All men are straight,
    In the Persian Gulf there are no queers.’

    ‘I’m innocent!’ screamed Prince Mishari
    As they dragged him to a functionary
    Who gave a cackle
    And hacked off his tackle:
    Now he might as well wear a sari.

  27. mishari permalink*
    October 7, 2010 12:30 AM

    …you always did have abysmal taste.

  28. MeltonMowbray permalink
    October 7, 2010 12:41 AM

    The Guardian formatting has the usual attention to detail, I see.

    I had an email from S Crown today, which I didn’t see till this evening. The message also contained (by accident, I assume) the email addresses of several other people. I’m afraid yours was one, freep. Naturally I destroyed it immediately. Glad to see you’re still alive, btw.

    I hadn’t actually thought of that, Exit, though I know the usage. An appropriate response.

  29. hic8ubique permalink
    October 7, 2010 12:44 AM

    ‘…who don’t pay their bills’
    I was just scratching about for a stack of bills I meant to pay yesterday, but I couldn’t resist looking in, and now I’m just ecstatic! I think I like the cover; it has a purple cat face.
    Timing, Mishari, the secret of your success?

  30. mishari permalink*
    October 7, 2010 12:52 AM

    I didn’t get an email from Crown. Should I feel slighted?

    Yes, hic…timing is everything, as I told my family when I took them on holiday to Pearl Harbour on Dec.7, 1941…

  31. hic8ubique permalink
    October 7, 2010 1:12 AM

    Well, I’m pleased you could partake of the long-awaited unveiling, M. It wouldn’t be festive without you.

    I’m a bit concerned about freep being named on the blog.
    Freep, didn’t you say you valued your anonymity?

    I see the dedication is to
    ‘cynical steve, doggerelist extraordinaire’
    I’m sorry to have missed him.

  32. mishari permalink*
    October 7, 2010 3:53 AM

    OK…insomnia’s good for something. I found that link for you Reine (it might amuse you too, hic). The fun with the phrase ‘everyone’s sense of the world is invaluable’ begins with a comment from Billy HERE.

    You have to wade through countless posts from @deadgod who seems to have been having a nervous breakdown, but there are some brilliant bits of wordplay by the compos mentis posters…

  33. hic8ubique permalink
    October 7, 2010 4:31 AM

    I’ll be keen to look tomorrow. The G seems unwilling to cooperate at the moment. I always like to hear what dg has to say, even when I can’t quite follow him (and despite his Emily Dickinson enthusiasm) I’ve seen him in agitation, but never a non compos dg. I’m most curious…

    I’ve been rummaging through the bedclothes looking for that stack of bills. That’s the trouble with a laptop, all feeble semblance of regimen is gone and anything could be anywhere.
    The facetiously bemused spouse says: ‘What sort of a business are you running here anyway?’
    He’s going off for 5 days with his trusty chainsaw, so it will be rather quiet hereabouts. People who say ‘Oh how lovely to have all that music in the house’ aren’t imagining the same piece being practised at intervals all day long, for days at a time.Now he’s making it imposibletotype gt so me sleep, Mishari

  34. Reine permalink
    October 7, 2010 10:28 AM

    Thanks Mish, an allsorts of a thread. V entertaining.

  35. MeltonMowbray permalink
    October 7, 2010 11:12 AM

    No sooner do I turn my back than there’s a new thread. Anyway, I have this:

    Wire Forest

    Metal trees make a poor tableau,
    those trunks and boughs of steel
    don’t rustle when the breezes blow
    they creak and squeak and squeal.

    There’s a serious risk of cuts,
    or damage to the brain
    from showers of iron chestnuts;
    we won’t walk there again.

    As we wander the fields of swarf
    the glinting bushes ring
    and from the iron filing earth
    come blooms of golden bling.

    Though the mineral scene appals
    and the woods don’t entice
    when the glittering leafage falls
    it does look rather nice.

    Still working on my roboDickinson. I was thinking, Reine, you must be something of an authority on ED if your MA is any guide.

  36. freep permalink
    October 7, 2010 1:31 PM

    hic, the graun was being free with my identity. I got them to remove my certificated cognomen from the blog. I don’t mind it being in a potted biog at the back of a printed vol, but prefer to keep it off line. Thanks for your concern. Anyone know if the cover of Billys anthol is a painting by the ubiquitous Parisa?

  37. hic8ubique permalink
    October 7, 2010 2:07 PM

    It’s a good name freep, worth looking after.

    cover image:
    ‘Acres are Fields’ credited to ‘Andrea J Russell’

    I suppose that could be Parisa, but I’d imagine her blog identity would be used in that case…?

    Did the WW pike theme recur synchronously for you freep?
    You didn’t know Billy was posting that, did you.

  38. Reine permalink
    October 7, 2010 2:15 PM

    That is Parisa’s real name Hic, if the book preview extract is to be believed.

  39. freep permalink
    October 7, 2010 3:55 PM

    Hic, though my mind is forever running on pike and poets’ sisters, that was a sheer coincidence. I bet Maine is a good place for pike.

  40. hic8ubique permalink
    October 7, 2010 5:03 PM

    Then I haven’t yet looked closely enough yet, Re. I’m pleased for her; it’s a well-deserved distinction I believe.
    If you are truly an authority on Emily, I’ll drown in mortification for being so wretchedly blunt.

    Pike are like ancient mini-ichtyosaurs to me, freep, quite terrifying in aspect, perhaps better in aspic. I don’t know about Maine; they’re certainly not in the lake we swim in!

    Here on Cape Ann, we have frenzies of predatory bluefish and shoals of striped bass during the season. Those are the prey of choice for inshore fishermen. Herring are used as bait. Clams are a famous local delicacy, and of course lobster is popular here as well as in Maine. Haddock and scallops are my favourite local seafoods.

    ‘Co-incidence’ goes with ‘psycho-somatic’ for me. I feel they are never as mere or sheer as we tend to think, but evidence of the undercurrents of our mysterious synchronies.

  41. mishari permalink*
    October 7, 2010 5:39 PM

    I thought the cover might be Parisa’s. She’s a very gifted painter, as I discovered when our late and much-missed friend Steve put up a large selection of her work on his blog. I’m glad they ‘kept it in family’, so to speak.

    Pike are quite fascinating, almost freshwater barracuda. They grow to an enormous size and I once saw one take a full-grown duck. They’re tasty eating but bony as hell. Best to steam them, strip the flesh and make quenelles. Lovely with a green sauce made from wild onion and sorrel…

    I forget to compliment you, freep, on your marvelous pike and Wordsworth poem: your usual superlative standard…

  42. Reine permalink
    October 7, 2010 6:33 PM

    Indeed I am no ED expert although I did know a good deal about her twenty years or so ago. I would not wear my learning so lightly if I were! My MA (what a memory MM) was on women writers of the middle ages; specifically a comparative study of Christine de Pizan’s (yeah, who?) Book of the City of Ladies and Chaucer’s Legend of Good Women. I forget everything I knew about that too but the dusty copy of my (80,000 word) thesis lies somewhere in the garage with a suitably cringemaking title (“hegemony” features) and a dedication to my then husband – my mother was right not to commit anything to print that one can’t stand over. I was young and idealistic and quite clever then… don’t know where it all went wrong. Now I’m a middle ranking civil servant hard pressed to write a limerick! Sigh.

    I used to tutor the English undergrads back in the day. The memory of that is equally cringemaking; used to sit on the desk bedecked in scarves smoking Silk Cut and waxing lyrical. They didn’t seem to mind but are probably racked with emphysema now.

    Making a birthday dinner for HI who is gone to the pub for a pint after work. He will probably have it for his breakfast.

  43. freep permalink
    October 7, 2010 11:02 PM

    Lovely slice of life, Reine, esp the ‘hegemony’ bit and sitting on the desk; but weren’t / aren’t Silk Cut low tar? I remember dropping chunks of unrolled Golden Virginia into the laps of undergrads, and feel no guilt at all. I am sure I did even less damage to their minds.
    Thanks Mishari, about pike. But I have trouble enjoying freshwater fish, even tho your recipe sounds convincing.

  44. mishari permalink*
    October 7, 2010 11:21 PM

    Being in the Grauniad reminded me irresistibly of this:

  45. Reine permalink
    October 8, 2010 12:13 AM

    Thanks Freep. My father smoked Silk Cut so it was theft from his stash that started me on the rocky tarred road. I officially gave up all kinds of tar long ago but occasionally lapse.

  46. Zeph permalink
    October 8, 2010 12:45 AM

    Pike? I was once horribly ill in France after eating quenelles de brochet which were basically fishcakes of pike … they tasted OK, but after a night of exceptional squalor I vowed never to go near another pike, alive or dead. Unfair, perhaps, as no doubt the restaurant was partly to blame.

  47. Parisa permalink
    October 9, 2010 1:33 PM

    Hey you guys – took a peek – couldn’t resist. My what chatter boxes – I thought I was bad but you take the cake! Actually v good conversationalists. Thought I might join “the clan” – for a mo if okay. Thanx for the encouragement guys – what with me clawing my way to notoriety via the G. I’m amazed you know so much about the anthol – I didn’t even know it had begun life until Reen – now Reine? yes – like that – said. But v kind of y’all anyway. I have had a number of shows but it’s nice to do something like this for a change – only folk like Don Gil being an arsehole – what is it with that guy?! Hic, I remember you also had a prob with him at one time, right? He’s raving!

    It’s at times like this that CynicalSteve’s absense is v sorely felt – he should’ve been part of this – what a life, eh?
    Anyway………now feeling v tired having been up all night – gave up the ciggies when I met my significant other – he refused to have anything to do with me unless I did. Def not good for yas anyway. But every now & then, really fancy one. Silk Cut was my brand. (sigh)

    Okay – shall try to get some shut-eye – work best at night when it’s all quiet. Damn the inertia! Full slouch ahead!

    Have yourselves a good weekend.

  48. Parisa permalink
    October 9, 2010 2:02 PM

    ps re the painting on the cover which is kind of in my mind presently: I’m not sure myself how it works – only having seen it on a wall, so to speak – next to it’s partner -( it’s a dyptich). It’s awfully difficult to tell on a computer I find – but anyway. It’s bound not to be to everyone’s taste – but as I said on the blog, pple may not have been happy with any image & if there had just been typography & no image, pple might’ve thought it dull. I wasn’t privvy to discussions the G had re the cover but I assume they had a lot of choices.

    This doc who bought the paintings from me has them in his dining room where they look not too bad – they change with different lighting but I don’t s’pose it’ll do that on the cover.

    But what I feel about certain paintings is that in the moment you might think one way but on some level what matters to me is that if pple have empathy right away without probing, then perhaps they’re not really seeing everything. If that makes sense. I mean that for me it’s important to develop an outlook where not everyone’s going to appreciate what you do being an artist. But pple relate to different kinds of art & that can only be good.

    Getting carried away here – ah fuggit – must now get my panda eyes to shut!
    xP

  49. hic8ubique permalink
    October 9, 2010 4:08 PM

    Hi, P. Yes, I’m done with the Don, though I sometimes sympathise with his ideas. He seems an oppositional personality, so there’s no point in engaging, like a dog that whimpers before biting you.

    It is indeed a rare feather in your cap.
    My grandfather did the cover design for a book called
    The Eastern Key of Abd al-Latif in the ’60s. I was deeply impressed as a child…grisly stories of ancient droughts on the Nile.

    You say:
    “if pple have empathy right away without probing, then perhaps they’re not really seeing everything”

    I do think that one must have something right away, empathy, curiosity, surprise…to ever be inclined to look further. It’s just the way our ‘filter’ works. We can’t possibly see everything, so first impressions are keen indicators, though not the entire story. Subjectivity is the whole fun of abstraction, yes?

  50. October 9, 2010 8:23 PM

    Just caught up with this thread. Great work, Melton & Freep (5th and 6th). Are you indexing these posts, Mish? I think it would be good to have a keyword reference catalogue for future searches… now which damn post was that poem in?

    • mishari permalink*
      October 10, 2010 9:30 AM

      Simon, there used to be a ‘search’ function here but it was utterly fucking useless so I shitcanned it. I found that it was far more efficient to google whatever you’re looking for using the formula “politely homicidal+misharialadwani+ whatever it is you’re looking for” … a keyword, a phrase, a remembered quote or title. Remember to put quotation marks around the whole query.

  51. Parisa permalink
    October 10, 2010 12:34 PM

    Hey hic – re Don G……..I don’t sympathise with any of his ideas I’m afraid – I find that he’s wrong & that he’s in love with his ideas more than anything & also that he plays schoolboy who’s bitter. Either that or god. But hey – just my opinion. At the mo, I’m feeling stalked by him to be frank – he pounces on my every word. Re the latest stuff – it’s not
    what he says but how he says it & he does rather make up whoppers. But he’s not going to chase me off the blogs which I’m sure is his aim – & which I’ve been enjoying for – oh I dunno – about five or so years. Yes – done with him is a good way of putting it. (tho’ it rather looks like with him it’s an-unfinished-saga) It’s a bit like it’s so bad it’s good. But a laugh he’s not. “Oppositional personality” – oh so that’s it – I wondered what it was! And you sound as if you work in that field. I have a friend in London who’s a shrink – I’d like to say to DG “you need to see someone” – (like her!)

    Btw……..I don’t mean that one doesn’t have something right away – be it empathy or curiosity or distaste too – whatever. Difficult to explain away – & I probably phrased it badly. What I meant was – that I think it’s important to develop one’s outlook where not everyone’s going to appreciate what you do being an artist – kinda thing. I’m really speaking more from the artist’s pov here not the onlooker. But from the onlooker’s vantage point, I often find I like something & really I’m missing what’s really there because of that & vice versa. Never mind – I get the gist of what you’re saying & yes – for sure – I agree re the subjectivity, fun & abstraction bit. Altho’ sometimes with abstraction, & maybe especially in theatre, perhaps not so much art. is how meaning can be inverted with other events – beyond the control of the artist or producer. So sometimes things can get contorted. Which kind of turns what I first meant upside-down! Oh well.

    Did see a wonderful prog on telly earlier about Elia Kazan – lots of clips of On The Waterfront & East of Eden – both particular faves. Yesterday we saw the movie of the book by Ishiguro – Never Let Me Go – quite sharp.

    Btw – v good pic – yours. Did you once say you are Swedish? Sorry, I forget. And lovely smile. My spouse’s first biggy amour was a Swedish model – (I got schooled). It’s funny how different someone can be to how you imagine them from the blogs. I would love to see a pic of everyone!

  52. hic8ubique permalink
    October 10, 2010 4:21 PM

    It looks to me as though para has jus outed the Don as a CiF troll.
    No surprise there.
    He’s not trying to drive you away; how would you then reward him with your reactions?
    I’m not a shrink, but I did have a passive/aggressive husband, (long since ex-) You know how there are certain behaviour patterns that gradually announce themselves, and you say ‘Oh, yes, I’ve seen you before.’ Then you know it’s not about you, and you can stop putting energy into the dynamic.

    Ah, of course, you were speaking from the artist’s pov, and I from the observer’s. Sometimes, P, following your train of thought is like tracking the Flight of the Bumblebee for me, hastening to add: I say this with affection! It’s so ‘you’, it’s an endearment.x

    Thanks for your thumb up to my pic. Did you imagine me very differently? My Dad is a Skåne Swede through and through. Mother, though essentially a NLondon girl, had some Irish and some Bavarian forebears mixed in, so though entirely Northern, I’m truly a mongrel in a strange land, as many of us seem to be.

    If you scroll back a few weeks, Reine/reen and Simon/SCFMH
    posted lovely acrobat photos, which you must click through to open.I too enjoy having some sort of image of the regulars when it’s possible.

  53. Parisa permalink
    October 10, 2010 10:26 PM

    “Sometimes, P, following your train of thought is like tracking the Flight of the Bumblebee for me, hastening to add: I say this with affection! It’s so ‘you’, it’s an endearment.”

    Butterfly mind, I think it’s called!

    Don: CiF troll? Aha – well that figures.

    “He’s not trying to drive you away; how would you then reward him with your reactions?”

    He wins if he drives me away & he wins if I react. The obvious answer is to not react – difficult to do, always! But I’m done with him. I have not heard that expression before – “oppositional personality” – it’s a thought provoking one. It makes sense about him being a CiF troll – argumentative bastard. Sorry but can’t help feeling this. He thinks he’s got great critical faculties but he just wants to take a position where he can be the winner – these poetry blogs aren’t about that, are they? I guess it depends who it is who’s blogging. Anyway pov, at the end of the day, are only that – pov.

    Re exes – my ex husband was finickity to the point of madness. The second one was passive-aggressive like yours. Still good friends with both but better apart. Curious how you never really know someone & living with a person is something that takes a big amount of cooperation. Maybe!

    Actually didn’t imagine you that differently – nor Reine.

    You say: Subjectivity is the whole fun of abstraction, yes?

    Thinking more on this – it’s an important part but I guess it’s not everything. There may be an intellectual component too? And a v important formal aspect. An image, for an artist, is about form for the most part – I mean more than subject matter. But subject matter is a component but less so perhaps. Especially in non-representational art. What I was thinking of in my painting was heavily influenced by poetry but that’s another story again, perhaps. But to try to bring clarity – naturally everyone has a personal response to things but as with the poetry blog, it’s rewarding to dig deeper.

    Btw – where would you mean re the acrobat photos? PotW or PP? Would like to take a look.

    ~

    Hey Misha – loved the donkey story & also the poem.

  54. Reine permalink
    October 10, 2010 11:08 PM

    Hi Parisa, hope all well – I like your cover painting more, the more I see it. Have tried to post the gravatar thing but am confusing myself madly. Reine (my real name).

  55. Parisa permalink
    October 11, 2010 12:03 AM

    Hey Reine – wow – that is some fab name you have! And thanx so much – appreciated.

    ~

    Hey Hic – re Don: my feeling is it isn’t really about the painting at all – he’s just out to have a go at me. He’s done it on many other blogs & also to others – including yourself & atf & even Zeph who’s hasn’t been posting so much of late. Or don’t think I’ve seen much, anyway. (Hey Zeph)

    ~

    Here’s some music, guys – hope you like! (you may have to copy & paste this – can’t activate it on the comp I’m presently using)


    ted

  56. hic8ubique permalink
    October 11, 2010 2:56 AM

    The acrobat photos are here on PH, P, but now you can see
    Re’s dreamy gaze, and Simon will probably post his when he comes around…
    If you feel inclined, you may go to WordPress at the bottom of this page and open a profile with you own pic, which is then consistent across all WordPress sites.

    No, it’s not about your painting. Just breathe, and ignore the Don. He’ll eventually run out of people to provoke.

  57. simonmh permalink
    October 11, 2010 5:24 AM

    Hmm, wondering if this piccy thingy is going to work…

  58. simonmh permalink
    October 11, 2010 5:24 AM

    It does!

    • hic8ubique permalink
      October 11, 2010 2:53 PM

      Ah, the heady thrill of successful invocation.

      Good to see you Si, and a peek at your blog. You’ve been busy there; I must go back to it.
      Jack probably could do the same sort of link to his poetry page on facebook.

  59. Parisa permalink
    October 11, 2010 10:02 AM

    Thanx Hic – I’ll check that out – as for my pic on WordPress…….I’ll have to think what pick of the pics to put on there. Like Reine, a wig may be an idea as the locks have got fried in the sun. I thought Simon would look like Simon too. Btw…..thanx for your advice – I’ll try to keep breathing! Just listening to Rach 3 – Van Cliburn on telly in an archive recording which he did in Moscow. Somewhat overexposed.

    • Reine permalink
      October 11, 2010 4:40 PM

      Parisa – are you referring to my Moscovian avatar of old or do I need to rush off to the hairdresser? ;)

  60. Parisa permalink
    October 11, 2010 10:10 AM

    Hey Reine – your pic – my significant other said we could be sisters (!)

  61. freep permalink
    October 11, 2010 3:14 PM

    Is that really you, Simon, or Indiana Jones?

  62. October 12, 2010 1:08 AM

    Really me I’m afraid, Freep; the dashing Inbanana and I have little in common other than the hat.

  63. InvisibleJack permalink
    October 12, 2010 1:18 AM

    Actually, Simon, I thought you looked more like a kindly Dr Who.

    The following is probably far too late, but I feel I probably owe a poem to the thread again at this stage. And (sigh!) it’s about horses (and it’s not intended as a reference to anyone here, before you all get fucking paranoid!) Jesus!…

  64. InvisibleJack permalink
    October 12, 2010 1:20 AM

    Sometimes a Horse is the Thing Itself

    Greet him in the dewy meadow,
    the horse’s breath will smell of grass.
    Golden ingots of woven dung
    the treasures from that horse’s arse.
    From his mane he shakes the sky off;
    now grey to black, now bad to worse.
    Takes the rider past two rivers:
    one called Poetry, one called Verse.
    Either one will lead the rider
    through grasses where the white moth stirs.

    Jack Brae Curtingstall

    • Reine permalink
      October 12, 2010 10:14 AM

      And this is why Jack is a “proper” poet. Love it.

    • InvisibleJack permalink
      October 12, 2010 1:30 PM

      Thank you Reine, I’m humbled and pleased that you like it.

      However, I consider everyone on this blog as “proper” poets. There’s more care and attention to craft and, quite frankly, more knowledge of how to compose poetry, on this blog than is demonstrated in many’s a poetry journal. There’s also better poetry here and on PP than you’d find at times in any of the journals as well. And I mean this sincerely. There are poets with collections who know fuck-all about poetry and can’t write it to save their lives and who are put to shame by us here. I’m on this blog for the company of the poets here. (I also like you because you’re a bunch of contrary bastards and bitches.)

    • Reine permalink
      October 12, 2010 4:14 PM

      Jack, I know you know I meant no disrespect to anyone else but I suppose I consider you proper in the way I would consider myself improper – and I am improper enough! This place makes me try hard because I really respect and admire the people here and, yeah, ditto your last line.

      “From his mane he shakes the sky off” – my favourite line.

    • hic8ubique permalink
      October 12, 2010 4:32 PM

      Am not!

  65. hic8ubique permalink
    October 12, 2010 2:01 AM

    The horse is the thing
    wherewith to catch the white moth
    on the wing!

  66. Parisa permalink
    October 12, 2010 2:29 PM

    “through grasses where the white moth stirs”

    aaah…….memorable poem, JBC.

    ~

    Raccoon After the Rain

    It ran down the path –
    Thought it might
    Jump up & down
    And get wild
    Thought I could take
    It home for a pet –
    But no. Cruel, that.
    Actually think it was a possum

    Last week a lion
    Wandered into a
    Back yard
    Got stuck in the fence
    And had to die

    They only want water
    And maybe a bite
    To eat – they’re not hungry
    For you or I
    It’s the parched hills.

    Bears too are found in pools
    They like to stay cool, too!
    I want to adopt every animal
    I see that’s homeless
    But I see that the fence
    Has to be there – for them
    And for me.

  67. Parisa permalink
    October 18, 2010 9:14 AM

    omg – the pic thing worked & now there are tons of ’em – eek.

  68. October 18, 2010 10:03 AM

    Innocent décolleté and a knowing sneer… ideal combination

  69. Parisa permalink
    October 18, 2010 1:16 PM

    @ Steven Augustine – I don’t do sneers

  70. Parisa permalink
    October 18, 2010 1:19 PM

    @ SA – I think your comment is more of a sneer! Afraid I can’t tell you what I was thinking at the time the pic was taken but it wasn’t scorn or contempt.

  71. Parisa permalink
    October 18, 2010 1:37 PM

    I think I maybe was wishing maybe someday I could write something smart & sassy. And maybe someday I will.

  72. hic8ubique permalink
    October 18, 2010 6:02 PM

    I’m pretty sure that was a Steven Augustine Special Compliment, P.
    You must tune your ear a bit with him.

    I think you are Nefertiti.
    http://tiny.cc/4veee

  73. October 18, 2010 7:54 PM

    Serves me right for refusing to use smileys. I’d use sneeries, mind you…

  74. October 18, 2010 7:57 PM

    (Good thing I thought better of remarking on the suspicious fact that all of the women posting on Mish’s site are rather “foxy”… I can see Mish taking offense already…)

  75. Zeph permalink
    October 18, 2010 8:03 PM

    Not me. I’m catty.

  76. October 18, 2010 8:06 PM

    Catty is also nice.

  77. hic8ubique permalink
    October 18, 2010 8:09 PM

    What are you suspicious of, SA?
    It may be time to update your avatar to something more mature and naturalistic…?

  78. Reine permalink
    October 18, 2010 8:17 PM

    I’ll take foxy any day Steven, consider yourself swished gently by my brush.

  79. October 18, 2010 8:19 PM

    Hic!

    A. I’m suspicious that M. has a pencil-thin mustache and wears a silk dressing gown all day
    B. My avatar is a picture of my wife at the age of five and I will use it until they pry it from my cold dead virtual fingers

  80. October 18, 2010 8:20 PM

    Reine!

    (feeling moist-palmed, suddenly)

  81. October 18, 2010 8:21 PM

    Reine *and* Hic, mind you…!

    (oh crap my daughter is calling)

  82. October 18, 2010 8:23 PM

    She really was calling. I had to count the rocks she’d put in a jar.

  83. hic8ubique permalink
    October 18, 2010 8:28 PM

    You’re suspicious that this perpetually dressing-gowned Snydley Whiplash has invented us?
    At least his isn’t pencilled on.
    And I’m no canid.

  84. Zeph permalink
    October 18, 2010 8:28 PM

    How many were there?

  85. October 18, 2010 8:33 PM

    32. But then I had to measure the hall from the music room to the… etc. There’s a talking sock puppet involved as well.

  86. Zeph permalink
    October 18, 2010 8:33 PM

    (Rocks, that is.)

    None of us is real, of course… we’re all constructs.. puppets…. products of the fevered brain of the genius sometimes known as……

    aaagh

  87. Reine permalink
    October 18, 2010 8:34 PM

    Ha! I am coming to terms with a fringe since lunch time just so you have the full picture. I blame Exitb’s subliminal references.

    Counting rocks in a jar seems a good and pure occupation. Well done child Augustine.

  88. Zeph permalink
    October 18, 2010 8:37 PM

    oops, cross-posting. my robotic controls must be a bit out of whack.

    a talking sock-puppet? sounds like POTW.

  89. mishari permalink*
    October 18, 2010 8:39 PM

    No ‘tache…faugh…silk dressing-gown: present and accounted for but is only for listening to Noel Coward whilst sipping martinis and smoking cigarettes in a long holder (an infrequent event).

  90. Reine permalink
    October 18, 2010 8:40 PM

    If he had invented me, I’d have asked for a smaller nose.

  91. October 18, 2010 8:42 PM

    the comedy came in when I was on my knees, taking my assignment too seriously, putting a fingertip at the edge of the meter stick and saying, “So you put your finger here…”

    When the sock puppet interrupted: “But I don’t have any fingers.”

  92. Parisa permalink
    October 18, 2010 8:42 PM

    Hic thanx – & you are a Marilyn. Zeph you’re not catty your bitchy. Just kidding!!!!!!!! Reine, you’re a Nigella. (my bruv’s always been in lurve with her – he even wrote to her & asked her out – true. But surprize surprize she didn’t reply.

    Steven A thanx for the sneery – :-) You made me laugh out loud.

    The one I’m curious about is MM – would love to see what he looks like – fat chance.

  93. hic8ubique permalink
    October 18, 2010 8:43 PM

    A reference to fringe theatre has influenced your hair-style, Re?
    You must be highly suggestible.

    SA, you might add a second photo for a short while just to amuse us…?
    If you refer to Mishari’s much-admired photo, I don’t think that’s a dressing-gown. I’d venture to guess a melton (!) wool jacket in a dark charcoal colour with the collar turned up against the elements.[Well spotted, oh style maven-Fastidious Ed.]

  94. Parisa permalink
    October 18, 2010 8:44 PM

    Don’t you like my mickey mouse ears?

  95. Parisa permalink
    October 18, 2010 8:53 PM

    Mishari: He who smokes thinks like a philosopher. (But it might depend what he’s smoking) What about your pic? Is it somewhere here?

  96. October 18, 2010 8:56 PM

    hic:

    here’s something that’ll amuse you, alright:

    http://staugustine2.wordpress.com/2010/07/08/the-endless-thread-7-0/#comment-3771

  97. Parisa permalink
    October 18, 2010 8:56 PM

    Will the real Mishari please stand up.

  98. Reine permalink
    October 18, 2010 9:01 PM

    Well, thank you Parisa but I fall far short of her glowy beauty.

    What ears do you speak of?

    I was bored Hic, it was an impulse decision. I am prone to those.

  99. Parisa permalink
    October 18, 2010 9:32 PM

    I think you once described yourself as Nigella on PotW – I was agreeing with you. But you’ll look like Louis Brooks with a fringe or did you mean the Edinburgh Fringe? I haven’t had a fringe for yonks – am hesitant but it constantly threatens – prob is it takes years to grow out if you don’t like it. C’est ca – la vie!

    The ears in the second pic I posted – they look like that to me – the clock & a curl of my hair.

  100. Parisa permalink
    October 18, 2010 9:36 PM

    Btw Reen – if who had invented you? I think big noses are always attractive. My best friend has quite a big nose & has always wanted to alter it but I think it’s her redeeming feature.

  101. Reine permalink
    October 18, 2010 9:41 PM

    I was referring to Mishari P, my creator and master.

    I like that clock pic, very arty.

  102. October 18, 2010 9:49 PM

    I’ve just been at a splendid 30th anniversary of some friend’s theatre group where they celebrated with a weekend of theatre and performance both indoors and outdoors.

    One act was a quick sketch artist who summed me up as having a sperm whale’s forehead, a head the shape of a kidney bean, a paedophile’s overcoat, teeth like a row of front doors and a chin that cascades down to my chest.

    Previously I’ve been described as regional runner-up in the John Malkovich look-alike competition 1997.

    Take your choice and be thankful I remain unseen behind the wordpress tile.

    Should curiosity overtake almost anything wearing glasses on the website is me. Click on my green name and you are there.

  103. Reine permalink
    October 18, 2010 10:23 PM

    Way ahead of you Ed and that sketch artist was doubtless just jealous!

  104. October 18, 2010 10:35 PM

    Why thank you Reine.

    The sketch artist was a stand-up comic called Woody Bop Muddy who’s done the circuit for donkey’s years too and has another very funny act “Record Graveyard” where he invites the audience to vote on whether he should smash up ghastly records by the likes of Simply Red, the Police etc. etc.

    one good gag is about an album called “The Real Sound of Bread” where he demonstrates how innaccurate a title it is by putting a slice of Mother’s Pride on the turntable and allowing us to listen to what bread really sounds like. You had to be there I suppose.

  105. mishari permalink*
    October 18, 2010 10:40 PM

    Will you buggers (and buggeresses [sp?]) kindly move to the new thread? All this jumping around to follow conversations is making me irritable.

Comments are closed.